Home

Amplifiers: A Nerd Thread

Mowl

So I'm using a TEAC A-X75MkII amplifier that offers seventy-five watts per channel and is by far the sweetest, warmest amplifier I've ever used. Sound quality is vital in my game, but even as a studio musician I have to have at least as good an amp at home as those I use in the studio. Obviously speaker quality is vital too, and I use a pair of Finnish designed Salora speakers from around the late seventies/early eighties that are simply sublime. I got them from a neighbour who was moving out and I did mention that they were highly sought after on the national market but he gave them to me anyway.

I previously used a quirky late seventies-issue Pioneer amplifier which was great at peak volume but pretty much lousy at low volume playback. The inputted sources, whether analogue or digital, always sounded cleaner, warmer, and fuller after around two to three hours, depending. I prefer my amps to have tubes rather than solid state, but of course the tubes take time to warm up, but when they do it's excellent. I find solid state rather turgid and cold, no matter how long they've been switched on. But with the TEAC I notice lately that it's taking longer to power up (even though I usually switch it on in the evening but don't use it until I'm ready, so around sixty to ninety minutes generally gives a good result.